Report Wire

News at Another Perspective

All the officers transferred at the behest of Shivraj Singh Chauhan, Election Commission canceled

1 min read

The transfer of 12 State Administrative Service officers (Joint Collector and Deputy Collector) made at the behest of Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chauhan during the by-election process in Madhya Pradesh has been canceled. The Election Commission took this decision. The Election Commission received a complaint in this context from the Congress party. In the trial, the Election Commission found that the transfer of officers was not very necessary to normalize normal life or to maintain the law and order situation.

In fact, the government transferred the officers without taking permission from the Commission. All these transfers were done in those 28 assembly constituencies in 19 districts where by-elections are to be held. The complaint was filed by Rajya Sabha MP Digvijay Singh and Vivek Tankha meeting Election Commissioners Rajiv Kumar and Sushil Chandra.

He had said that the Congress had complained to the Chief Electoral Officer, MP, but no action was taken. If the officers sitting in the MP Chief Electoral Officer’s office do not resolve the actual complaints, they should be replaced. The transferred officers are being entrusted with the responsibility of returning officer, which is a violation of the code of conduct.