Report Wire

News at Another Perspective

New Zealand name up former Dutch all-rounder Michael Rippon for European tour

2 min read

New Zealand Cricket have named former Dutch all-rounder Michael Rippon of their 15-man Twenty20 worldwide squad for the tour of Europe in July and August. Cape Town native Rippon, 30, moved to New Zealand from South Africa in 2013 and performed 31 instances for the Netherlands, together with a three-match one-day worldwide collection in opposition to the Black Caps in March.

International Cricket Council eligibility guidelines enable gamers to symbolize an affiliate nation whereas remaining out there to play for a full member. However, they can’t return to play for the affiliate nation for 3 years after being listed for a full member. Tom Latham will lead New Zealand’s ODI squad for a three-match collection in opposition to Ireland from July 10-15 earlier than Mitchell Santner takes over the captaincy.

Day 1 media for @michaelrippon19 in Dunedin after being named in a BLACKCAPS Squad for the primary time. More | #IREvNZ #SCOvNZ #NEDvNZ

— BLACKCAPS (@BLACKCAPS) June 21, 2022

New Zealand will play three T20s in opposition to Ireland in Belfast, two T20s and an ODI in opposition to Scotland in Edinburgh, in addition to two T20s in opposition to the Netherlands in Amsterdam on Aug. 4 and Aug. 5.

Bowling coach Shane Jurgensen will lead workers throughout the tour of Ireland, with head coach Gary Stead rejoining the group for Scotland and the remaining collection. Kane Williamson, Trent Boult, Tim Southee and Devon Conway aren’t collaborating within the tour and can return to New Zealand after the take a look at collection in opposition to England.

ODI squad: Tom Latham (captain), Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Dane Cleaver, Jacob Duffy, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Adam Milne, Henry Nicholls, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Will Young.
T20 squad: Mitchell Santner (captain), Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Dane Cleaver, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Michael Rippon, Ben Sears, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner.