Report Wire

News at Another Perspective

IND vs AUS: India ought to play Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami and Mohammed Siraj in 1st ODI, says Aakash Chopra

2 min read

Former India batter Aakash Chopra has mentioned that India ought to play Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami and Mohammed Siraj within the first ODI of the three-match collection towards Australia on the PCA Stadium in Mohali.

ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023: Full Coverage

Speaking on his Youtube channel, Chopra mentioned Shami ought to play because it could be a flat pitch, insisting that each side have goof batting line-ups. India is coming off a triumph in Asia Cup 2023, having defeated hosts Sri Lanka by 10 wickets within the remaining.

“I feel Shami should play without any doubt. When you play on a very flat pitch, batting generally tends to cancel each other out. Both sides have good batting line-ups. You might not need the No. 9. You will have [Ravichandran] Ashwin or [Washington] Sundar at No. 8. At least at No. 9, play a proper bowler,” mentioned Chopra.

He went on to say that India wants bowlers who can bounce again if they’ve a nasty spell. India is at present ranked second in ODIs, whereas Australia occupies the third spot.

“I am not saying that Shardul is not a proper bowler, but play Shami, Siraj, Bumrah – go with your three proper fast bowlers. If this is a 325-350 pitch, you will need bowlers. If you don’t play Tilak Varma, which is a possibility, then you won’t have the sixth bowling option. You need five bowlers, who do not have a chance of having a bad day. If they have a bad spell, they can actually bounce back,” Chopra added.

India have had the room to relaxation their 4 key gamers, together with captain Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli, for the primary two ODIs of the 3-match collection and provides alternatives to gamers who could be potential backups on the World Cup. KL Rahul has acquired a chance to steer the aspect after his sensational return to the aspect within the 2023 Asia Cup.

India squad for 1st ODI:

KL Rahul (C & WK), Ravindra Jadeja (Vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Shardul Thakur, Washington Sundar, R Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna.

Follow the India Today channel on WhatsApp right here.

Edited By:

Rounaq Sehrawat

Published On:

Sep 22, 2023