Report Wire

News at Another Perspective

Asia Cup 2023: Exciting to see Jasprit Bumrah in type, says AB de Villiers forward of India’s conflict vs Pakistan

2 min read

Former South Africa captain AB de Villiers stated he’s excited to see India fast-bowler Jasprit Bumrah in type forward of the 2023 Asia Cup. India will tackle rivals Pakistan of their Asia Cup opener on September 2 in Kandy, Sri Lanka.

Asia Cup 2023: Full Coverage

Speaking on his Youtube channel, De Villiers stated he’s excited to see Bumrah in type, including that he’s heard coaches say that Bumrah is performing like he’s by no means been away. Bumrah captained India to a 2-0 win within the three-match T20I collection towards Ireland, whereas additionally been named the Player of the Series.

“Bumrah even won the Man of the Series in Ireland, coming back from injury, which shows you what kind of talent he is. I have heard the coaches say that he has never been away. I am not surprised at all with Bumrah’s performance and it’s exciting to see him in form,” stated De Villiers.

He went on to say that he was a bit dissatisfied to not see spinner Yuzvendra Chahal as a part of India’s 17-member Asia Cup squad. Chahal was not picked within the Asia Cup after an underwhelming efficiency towards the West Indies within the T20I collection, which noticed him declare 5 wickets in as many matches.

“It is a bit of a disappointing drop for me as well. I think Yuzi is always handy with that leg-spinning option. We know how skillful and smart he can be. But the decision has been made and it is what it is,” De Villiers added.

India will face Pakistan of their Asia Cup opener as they give the impression of being to raise the trophy for a file eighth time.

India’s squad for Asia Cup 2023

Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya (vice-captain), Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Prasidh Krishna.

Edited By:

Rounaq Sehrawat

Published On:

Aug 25, 2023