Report Wire - Rajya Sabha polls: BJP more likely to win eight higher home seats from UP, SP three

Report Wire

News at Another Perspective

Rajya Sabha polls: BJP more likely to win eight higher home seats from UP, SP three

3 min read
Rajya Sabha polls: BJP likely to win eight upper house seats from UP, SP three

Express News Service

LUCKNOW: With the Election Commission of India (ECI) scheduling the 57 biennial elections for 57 seats of the Rajya Sabha on June 10, the main target shall be on UP, which can ship 11 members to the higher home.

In truth, UP tops the checklist of states and sends the utmost variety of 31 members to Rajya Sabha.

With the BJP returning to energy within the state with 273 seats and Samajwadi Party and its allies rising as the biggest opposition with  125 seats, there are solely two clear claimants to the RS seats. The Bahujan Samaj Party  (BSP) and Congress are set to attract a clean owing to their dismal presence within the state meeting.

While the BSP has only one MLA from Rasra in Ballia,  Congress has two — from Rampur Khas in Pratapgarh and Pharenda in Maharajganj. Besides, the Raghuraj Pratap Singh alias Raja Bhaiyya-led Jansatta Dal (Loktantrik)  has two seats.

ALSO READ | ‘50% under 50 from block to CWC’ set to result in main management revamp in Congress

Of these, 11 members who will bid adieu to the higher home in July embody BJP’s Shiv Pratap Shukla, Hariom Yadav, Surendra Singh Nagar, Sanjay Seth, Jay Prakash Nishad and Zafar Islam, SP’s Vishambhar Prasad Nishad, Sukhram Singh Yadav and Reoti Raman Singh, BSP’s Satish Chandra Mishra and Ashok Siddharth, and Congress’s Kapil Sibal.

As per the numbers, the BJP may win a minimum of eight of the 11 seats, whereas Samajwadi Party will comfortably bag a minimum of three.

Both the ruling BJP and opposition SP would have 5 floating votes comprising one of many BSP, two every of Jansatta Dal and Congress. However, these 5 votes wouldn’t be capable of tilt the polls in favour of one of many two important claimants as every seat would require a minimum of 36.63 votes to sail by way of.

This signifies that the BJP would require a minimum of 298.64 votes to win eight seats. It is certain to win seven and is 26 votes brief to win the eighth seat because it has 273 votes. So, the second desire vote may even come into play if the Samajwadi Party, which is certain to win three with 109.91 votes, fields a candidate to stake declare for the fourth. This will result in voting.

This signifies that whereas the BJP would require 26 votes, SP would have 15.36 extra votes and would want 21.53 votes to bag the fourth seat.

ALSO READ | ‘Time to repay debt’: Sonia tells Congress women and men to be prepared for sacrifices

However, the victory of SP on fourth seat would rely a lot on how disgruntled MLAs like Shivpal Yadav, Azam Khan and his son Abdullah Azam Khan vote.

According to political observers, as these MLAs have strained ties with SP chief Akhilesh Yadav, the potential of cross-voting can’t be dominated out if the state of affairs arises in RS polls.

Sources stated that of the three seats which SP is certain to win, the occasion president might select alliance companion and RLD chief Jayant Chaudhury, former IAS officer Alok Ranjan, who had joined the SP simply forward of 2022 Assembly polls, and the occasion’s face in Maharashtra Abu Asim Azmi.

Moreover, within the wake of the current assembly with senior BJP leaders and cabinet ministers, the strikes of SBSP chief Om Prakash Rajbhar would even be intently watched. At the identical time, if sources are to be believed, Apna Dal (Okay) chief Pallavi Patel, who had received the meeting election below the SP image by defeating BJP’s Keshav Maurya in his personal turf of Sirathu, can be not very pleased with the SP management.