Recent Comments

    Social menu is not set. You need to create menu and assign it to Social Menu on Menu Settings.


    1 min read

    The Indian government on Thursday extended the suspension of scheduled international commercial passenger services till December 31 in view of the coronavirus pandemic. The Directorate...

    2 min read

    Narendra Modi addressedd the concluding session of the 80th All India Presiding Officers Conference today via video conferencing. The two-day conference began yesterday at Kevadia...

    1 min read

    Union Home Minister Amit Shah on Thursday informed that he has spoken to Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu and Puducherry Edappadi K Palaniswami and V...

    1 min read

    Minister Arvind Kejriwal on Thursday came out in support of Punjab farmers and their protest against the Centre’s recently passed farm laws, saying that peaceful...

    1 min read

    Delhi Environment Minister Gopal Rai has tested positive for coronavirus. Rai took to Twitter to announce this. Rai is the Minister for Employment, Development, Labour,...

    November 26, 2020

    PM’s Shout-Out, Standing Ovation for BS Yediyurappa In BJP MPs’ Meet

    2 min read

    Prime Minister Narendra Modi urged BJP MPs to give a standing ovation for BS Yediyurappa, the Chief Minister of Karnataka, crediting him with the recent bypoll sweep that has firmly established the party's majority and stabilized its government in the southern state.
    At a weekly meeting of BJP MPs at parliament, PM Modi expressed joy at the Karnataka win, leaders said.

    First, the Prime Minister was given a standing ovation for his six months in office when he rose to address the BJP parliamentarians, said Union Minister Pralhad Joshi.

    "On behalf of the party, we gave him a standing ovation but PM Modi, before his speech, asked everyone to give Yediyurappa and Karnataka ministers a standing ovation," Mr Joshi told reporters.

    "PM Modi is very grateful to the people, he said there will be a lot of development in the state," added the Union Parliamentary Affairs Minister.

    The BJP won 12 of 15 Karnataka seats for which bypolls were held last week. The winners were mostly defectors whose exit led to the Congress-Janata Dal Secular coalition crashing, clearing the way for a BJP government led by Mr Yediyurappa.

    Mr Yediyurappa's gamble of fielding the Congress and JDS rebels despite resentment within the BJP paid off.

    The BJP, with 105 MLAs, needed seven more for a majority in the 224-member Karnataka assembly (two seats are vacant).

    On the day of the results, PM Modi called the BJP's win proof that people trust the ruling party when it comes to political stability. "The mandate in Karnataka was stolen through the backdoor by the Congress; people have now taught the party a lesson," PM Modi said at a rally in Jharkhand.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *