Report Wire - Yasir Shah again in Pakistan Test squad for tour to Sri Lanka

Report Wire

News at Another Perspective

Yasir Shah again in Pakistan Test squad for tour to Sri Lanka

2 min read

Yasir Shah will return to Test cricket following virtually a 12 months’s absence after Pakistan named the leg-spinner in an 18-strong squad for subsequent month’s two-match sequence in Sri Lanka.

🚨 Limited Time Offer | Express Premium with ad-lite for simply Rs 2/ day 👉🏽 Click right here to subscribe 🚨

Shah has struggled along with his health since that includes in opposition to the West Indies final 12 months. He performed a key function in Pakistan’s 2-1 victory in Sri Lanka seven years in the past, bagging 24 wickets.

“Our spin department is boosted with the return of Yasir Shah, who proved himself a match-winner in Sri Lanka on our last tour,” chief selector Mohammad Wasim stated on Wednesday.

Shah has changed off-spinner Sajid Khan, who performed within the final residence Test sequence in opposition to Australia which Pakistan misplaced 1-0.

Uncapped all-rounder Salman Ali Agha and left-arm spinner Mohammad Nawaz had been additionally named within the squad.

Nawaz was chosen for the sequence in opposition to Australia however was later withdrawn resulting from harm. Agha has persistently carried out on the home circuit.

The first check is in Galle from July 16-20 whereas Colombo will host the second match from July 24-28. Pakistan will fly out on July 6 and also will play a three-day warm-up match from July 11-13.

The matches can be a part of ICC’s world check championship.

Squad: Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan, Abdullah Shafique, Azhar Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Nauman Ali, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Afridi, Shan Masood and Yasir Shah