Report Wire - Women’s Asia Cup 2022: Harmanpreet Kaur to guide India as BCCI declares 15-member squad

Report Wire

News at Another Perspective

Women’s Asia Cup 2022: Harmanpreet Kaur to guide India as BCCI declares 15-member squad

2 min read

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Wednesday, September 21 introduced the squad for Women’s Asia Cup 2022, beginning October 1. Harmanpreet Kaur will lead the 15-member squad on the continental match which might be held in Bangladesh.

India haven’t made any modifications to the T20I squad which performed in England earlier in September. Wicketkeeper Taniya bhatia and and bowler Simran Bahadur have been added to the standby group. The two gamers had been a part of the squad for the 3-match sequence in England.

India’s squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Deepti Sharma, Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Sabbineni Meghana, Richa Ghosh (wicket-keeper), Sneh Rana, Dayalan Hemalatha, Meghna Singh, Renuka Thakur, Pooja Vastrakar, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Radha Yadav, Okay.P. Navgire

Standby gamers: Taniyaa Sapna Bhatia, Simran Dil Bahadur.

Harmanpreet Kaur will lead India on the Asia Cup as India will look to reaffirm their standing as the perfect Asian nation. Smriti Mandhana, who has been in positive kind within the ongoing tour of England, will proceed to be India’s vice-captain.

India can have Pooja Vastrakar, Renuka Thakur, Meghana Singh main the tempo assault whereas Radha Yadav, Sneh Raha and Rajeshwari Gayakwad might be in-charge of spin division for the sub-continent situations in Bangladesh.

India have additionally retained KP Navgire and Dayalan Hemalatha within the squad whie Richa Ghosh has been named the primary alternative wicketkeeper.

As many as 6 groups are a part of the Women’s Asia Cup which might be performed from October 1 to fifteen in Sylhet.

India begin the marketing campaign on the opening day towards Sri Lanka. India subsequent play Malaysia (October 3) and UAE (October 4) on successive days earlier than taking over Pakistan on October 7.

India, Pakistan, hosts Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, UAE, Thailand and Malaysia will play one another not less than as soon as within the group-stages. The high 4 groups on the finish of the round-robin stage will qualify for semi-finals.

— ENDS —