Report Wire - SAG nominations: ‘Power of the Dog’, ‘House of Gucci’ lead movie awards, ‘Squid Game’ creates historical past 

Report Wire

News at Another Perspective

SAG nominations: ‘Power of the Dog’, ‘House of Gucci’ lead movie awards, ‘Squid Game’ creates historical past 

3 min read
SAG nominations: 'Power of the Dog', 'House of Gucci' lead film awards, 'Squid Game' creates history 


LOS ANGELES: Jane Campion’s Western movie “The Power of the Dog” and Ridley Scott’s “House of Gucci” led the movie nominations for the twenty eighth Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards.

The nominations, which had been introduced on Wednesday, noticed Netflix’s “Squid Game” create historical past by changing into the primary Korean collection to obtain a nod within the prime tv class.

After the dwindling Golden Globes ceremony, the highlight is on SAG Awards to foretell the best way the wind would possibly circulate main as much as the Oscars.

“The Power of the Dog” and “House of Gucci” obtained three nominations every however Campion’s movie acquired a setback because it didn’t bag a spot within the prime award class of greatest ensemble solid.

The class will see a detailed contest between “House of Gucci”, Kenneth Branagh’s “Belfast”, Apple’s “CODA”, Adam McKay-directed “Don’t Look Up” and Will Smith-starrer “King Richard”.

Smith acquired a nomination in the perfect actor class the place he’s pitted in opposition to Benedict Cumberbatch (“The Power of the Dog”), Andrew Garfield (“Tick Tick…Boom!”), Javier Bardem (“Being The Ricardos”) and Denzel Washington (“The Tragedy Of Macbeth”).

Olivia Colman leads the perfect actress class for her flip as a troubled mom in Maggie Gyllenhaal’s “The Lost Daughter”.

She faces a tricky struggle from Lady Gaga of “House Of Gucci”, Nicole Kidman (“Being The Ricardos”), Jessica Chastain (“The Eyes Of Tammy Faye”) and Jennifer Hudson (“Respect”).

Surprisingly, Kirsten Dunst, who acquired overwhelming reward for her efficiency in “The Power of the Dog” is nominated within the best-supporting actress class.

She will go up in opposition to Ariana Debose (“West Side Story”), Caitríona Balfe (“Belfast”), Cate Blanchett (“Nightmare Alley”) and Ruth Negga (“Passing”).

Dunst’s co-star Kodi Smit-Mcphee is the frontrunner in the perfect supporting actor phase that additionally contains Ben Affleck (“The Tender Bar”), Bradley Cooper (“Licorice Pizza”), Troy Kotsur (“Coda”) and Jared Leto (“House Of Gucci”).

Netflix’s smash hit Korean collection “Squid Game” grew to become the primary non-English collection to earn a nomination for excellent efficiency by an ensemble in a drama.

HBO’s a number of Emmy-winning present “Succession” can also be nominated within the drama class with “The Morning Show”, “The Handmaid’s Tale” and “Yellowstone” filling up the remaining three spots.

“Squid Game” additionally landed three extra drama nominations with Lee Jung-jae and Jung Ho-yeon discovering spots in the perfect female and male actors classes, respectively.

The present can also be nominated in the perfect stunt ensemble in a comedy or drama collection phase.

In the perfect male actor (drama) class, “Succession” stars Brian Cox, Jeremy Strong and Kieran Culkin additionally characteristic together with “The Morning Show” actor Billy Cudrup.

“The Morning Show” leads Reese Witherspoon and Jennifer Aniston acquired nominations in the perfect feminine actor (drama) class with Sarah Snook of “Succession” and Elisabeth Moss of “The Handmaid’s Tale”.

Netflix’s “The Kominsky Method”, Hulu’s “Only Murders in the Building” and Apple’s “Ted Lasso” will face off for the perfect ensemble in a comedy collection prize.

“Ted Lasso” star Jason Sudeikis is the highest contender for the perfect male actor in a comedy collection trophy and he’ll go up in opposition to his co-star Brett Goldstein, Michael Douglas of ‘The Kominsky Method’ in addition to comedy legends Steve Martin and Martin Short for “Only Murders In The Building”.

Hannah Waddingham, who gained an Emmy for “Ted Lasso”, leads the perfect feminine actor race.

She is joined by co-star Juno Temple, Elle Fanning (“The Great”), Sandra Oh (“The Chair”) and Jean Smart (“Hacks”).

The 2022 ceremony of Screen Actors Guild Awards can be held on February 28.