Report Wire - Former Sri Lanka PM Rajapaksa, 16 others barred from travelling abroad

Report Wire

News at Another Perspective

Former Sri Lanka PM Rajapaksa, 16 others barred from travelling abroad

2 min read
Press Trust of India

Former Sri Lankan PM Mahinda Rajapaksa and 16 different politicians have been banned from travelling abroad by a Sri Lankan Court. This journey ban was imposed because it appeared that the 17 people conspired and deliberate assaults on peaceable protesters on May 9.

A Sri Lankan court docket issued a journey ban on former PM Mahinda Rajapaksa and 16 of his political allies. (File photograph)

A Sri Lankan court docket on Thursday imposed a journey ban on former prime minister Mahinda Rajapaksa, his son Namal Rajapaksa and 15 others in view of investigations in opposition to them for the lethal assault on anti-government protesters in Colombo this week.

The Fort Magistrate’s Court barred them from touring abroad as a result of investigations going down on the assaults on the GotaGoGama and MynaGoGama peaceable protest websites on Monday, News 1st web site reported.

The order was additionally imposed on parliamentarians Johnston Fernando, Pavithra Wanniarachchi, Sanjeewa Edirimanne, Kanchana Jayaratne, Rohitha Abeygunawardena, CB Ratnayake, Sampath Athukorala, Renuka Perera, Sanath Nishantha, Senior DIG Deshabandu Thennakoon amongst others.

The Attorney General had requested a journey ban on the 17 people, citing that they must be current in Sri Lanka for the investigations on the assaults on GotaGoGama and MynaGogama as it seems that they conspired and deliberate these assaults.

Violence erupted in Sri Lanka on Monday after supporters of Mahinda Rajapaksa attacked peaceable anti-government protesters demanding his ouster over the nation’s worst financial disaster that led to acute shortages of staple meals, gasoline and energy.


Meanwhile, Ranil Wickremesinghe is prone to take oath as the brand new Prime Minister of Sri Lanka at the moment, on May 12.

United National Party (UNP) chief, Ranil Wickremesinghe, will take oaths because the PM at 6.30 pm at the moment, his occasion confirmed.

Wickremesinghe, who held closed-door discussions with President Gotabaya Rajapaksa final night, will take oaths as the brand new PM. After taking the oaths, Wickremesinghe will go to a temple in Colombo and thereafter assume his duties.