Report Wire - Dilip Tirkey elected new Hockey India president

Report Wire

News at Another Perspective

Dilip Tirkey elected new Hockey India president

2 min read
Dilip Tirkey elected new Hockey India president

Former India captain Dilip Tirkey, who was the front-runner for the submit of Hockey India president, was elected unopposed for the highest job on Friday.

Hockey India elections have been scheduled to be held on October 1 however the outcomes have been declared prematurely as there have been no contestants for any of the posts, paving the way in which for the incumbent candidates to be elected unopposed as per the federation’s Constitution.

Tirkey was elected after Uttar Pradesh Hockey chief Rakesh Katyal and Hockey Jharkhand’s Bhola Nath Singh, who have been within the fray for the president’s submit, withdrew their nominations on Friday.

Thanks @DrSYQuraishi & @FIH_Hockey for conducting easy elections of @TheHockeyIndia. I’ll be sure that Indian hockey reaches to new heights.@CMO_Odisha @Media_SAI @IndiaSports activities

— Dilip Kumar Tirkey (@DilipTirkey) September 23, 2022

Bhola Nath has been elected unopposed as secretary basic.

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) has authorised Tirkey and his group’s appointments.

In a letter, the FIH mentioned that when the variety of contesting candidates for any submit is the same as or lower than the variety of posts, they shall be deemed to have been elected unopposed as per election by-laws on the Hockey India web site.

“Therefore, we are pleased to observe that the Executive Board of Hockey India stands elected as has been put on the website of Hockey India and that the posts election was unanimous for all posts,” it mentioned.