Report Wire - Bangladesh choose Shakib Al Hasan in squad for first Test vs Pakistan, all-rounder’s health to be assessed

Report Wire

News at Another Perspective

Bangladesh choose Shakib Al Hasan in squad for first Test vs Pakistan, all-rounder’s health to be assessed

2 min read

Shakib Al Hasan returned to the Bangladesh squad for the primary of a 2-Test collection in opposition to Pakistan, beginning Friday in Chattogram whereas opener Tamim Iqbal continues to take a seat out as a consequence of damage issues. Shakib, who was dominated out halfway throughout Bangladesh’s T20 World Cup marketing campaign with a hamstring damage, missed the 3-match T20I collection at house.

Shakib Al Hasan’s health might be assessed earlier than the beginning of the first Test, the BCB stated.”We will obviously have to wait and see if Shakib makes it for the first test but the players who are in the squad have been the most consistent performers for us in tests and their presence can make a difference,” chief selector Minhajul Abedin stated on Monday.Experienced opening batsman Tamim Iqbal has opted out of the collection as a consequence of damage. Bangladesh have additionally referred to as up uncapped duo Mahmudul Hasan Joy and Rejaur Rahman Raja. The two newcomers made their method into the squad primarily based on their performances within the longer type of the sport, based on Abedin.Batsman Mahmudul, 21, has made a promising begin to his first-class profession with two tons of within the National Cricket League whereas medium-pacer Raja, 22, picked up 33 wickets in 10 first-class matches.”It is still early days for him but Mahmudul has shown good temperament for the longer version,” Abedin stated.”He is also an in-form batsman. With injury concerns to Taskin (Ahmed) and Shoriful (Islam), we needed to keep our pace bowling options open and Raja got the nod. We have been monitoring his performances in first-class competitions. He is strong and energetic and has a knack for taking wickets.”Bangladesh squad for the primary Test: Mominul Haque (Captain), Shadman Islam, Saif Hasan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nayeem Hasan, Taijul Islam, Ebadot Hossain, Abu Jayed Rahi, Yasir Ali, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Rejaur Rahman Raja, Shakib Al Hasan.